Quick and Easy Balsamic Chicken

So, my darlings, I know I promised you a “real” article this week, but it’s going to have to wait.  I’m running into some… continuity problems.

The following is an absolutely tasty recipe that I found on allrecipes.com.  I’ve tweaked it some based on the results of my attempts.

braisedck

  • 6 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (I cut this in half, so 3 chicken breasts)
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt (1/2 tsp)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (this I didn’t actually measure)
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced (half an onion.  Skip if you don’t like caramelized onions and sub garlic)
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar (this was a tricky thing for me.  I like a lot of balsamic, so I pierced my chickens with a fork a few times, and actually let it marinate for about 10 minutes)
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes (1/2 can)
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil (1/2 tsp)
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano (1/2 tsp)
  • 1 teaspoon dried rosemary (1/2 tsp)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme (I didn’t have thyme, so I didn’t use it)

So, onward towards delicious-ness!

1. Season chicken breasts with ground black pepper and garlic salt. Heat olive oil in a medium skillet, and brown the onion and seasoned chicken breasts.

 2. Pour tomatoes and balsamic vinegar over chicken, and season with basil, oregano, rosemary and thyme. Simmer until chicken is no longer pink and the juices run clear, about 15 minutes.

Sounds easy, right?  Right?  It is, but here’s the thing- in cooking this I burned up the tomato juice AND most of the diced tomato.  The onion… well I don’t like caramelized onions, so I don’t think I did that part correctly.  I ended up scooping them out.  The blend of spices is nice, but to really give it flavor I got fresh rosemary and basil, slapped them a few times, and laid them down on the chicken itself and ladled the sauce on top.  When you flip the chicken, make sure the fresh herbs are on the bottom.  The second time I did this, I subbed three cloves of garlic for the onion, and it gave the chicken a much more spicy flavor, plus, garlic always makes it better.

“Simmering” isn’t a really good word for what you do with the chicken, in my opinion.  I assume simmer means to keep just below boiling, and it always makes me think of liquid.  You’re definitely pan-frying the guy.

This stuff is delicious, it really is.  The balsamic flavor doesn’t seem to keep well if you refridgerate and re-heat any left overs, but I’m still experimenting with that.  All in all I give this a 4 out of 5 stars.

This, plus some cucumber water and a salad, makes an absolutely delightful meal.  Ta!

One thought on “Quick and Easy Balsamic Chicken

  1. Pingback: Balsamic Vinegar Chicken with Fresh Tomatoes | Adventures of a Jayhawk Mommy

Leave a Reply

