How I Celebrate My 1-Month Mark of Smoking Cessasion

Hello, my darlings!  Today’s post, I confess, is being written on October 2nd, 2012.  Why, do you ask?  I am trying out a new form of behavior therapy where positive planning turns into positive actions.  So I am trying to train my brain into expecting a particular outcome, so that I will naturally do that positive action!  (did that make sense?)

Today, I am celebrating my 1 month mark of quitting smoking.  Now, for my fellow smokers out there, I will not become one of those sanctimonious so-and-so’s who decry their former vice and somehow vilify all those who are still smokers.  I hate those people, ugh.


For my lovelies who have NEVER smoked, I hope you will give me a bit of leeway and be understanding.  We all have vices, and some are easier to give up than others, just as some are more damaging than others.

Some of you may remember when I announced publicly that I was quitting smoking last year.  It was a valiant attempt, but I caved after a few days.  As they say, you have to be ready to quit for it to work.  I am now finally ready to quit.  So, because I love them so much, here are some bullet points salient to my quitting:

  • This is my 4th attempt at quitting smoking.
  • The longest I have been 100% smoke-free was 25 weeks, or 175 days (combined Combat Training and School in the Army)
  • I am not using a Nicotine patch or gum because they make my heart race
  • A client gifted me a lovely e-cigarette from blucigs.com that is very fun to use
  • I am using replacement techniques to combat cravings during trigger times (big latte in the morning while driving, bubble gum during the day and after meals, more vigorous sex so I’m too tired to get up)
  • Because they are all non-smokers, my circle of friends are very supportive
  • I have planned out rewards at certain intervals to reward my persistence of being smoke-free

Another way of keeping in line with smoking cessation is to list my personal reasons for quitting:

  • Smoking causes my skin to wrinkle and break out
  • Smoking causes me to wheeze when I jog
  • Smoking causes my hair and clothes to smell of smoke, no matter how careful I think I am
  • Smoking costs me a significant amount of money better spent elsewhere
  • Smoking yellows my teeth and makes me look older than I am
  • Smoking annoys my friends
  • Smoking in winter is hell, since it’s freezing cold outside and usually raining

And, finally, the best part!  Setting personal goals (and rewards!) is integral in the successful smoking cessation program, especially for someone like me who enjoys the ritual and habit of smoking, rather than so much the nicotine dependency.

  • At one month:  A spa manicure and pedicure with paraffin dips and massage
  • At three months: A professional teeth whitening treatment
  • At six months: A full body skin treatment; massage, exfoliation, mud wrap
  • At one year: All that money I’m saving up, I’m buying my first brand new car
  • At five years: Buy a condo?  Travel the world?  How about, climb Mt. Fuji in stiletto heels!

Now, as positive as I am trying to be (and as stubborn and determined as you all should know I am) I know I will slip and fall down.  I need to avoid my triggers and replace them with something benign, I need to recognize that even if it doesn’t seem to, I really am improving my health, and I need to always remember that proper sex kittens don’t need cigarettes to be smokin’ hot!

I don’t normally ask for feedback, but I would love it if my readers would speak up if they have kicked the habit or are currently trying.

2 thoughts on “How I Celebrate My 1-Month Mark of Smoking Cessasion

  1. I wish you great success in your quest!

    I have adopted a similar approach for weight loss/physical conditioning, a combination of both short-term/long-term rewards *and* consequences, and it has been working well to maintain focus 🙂

Leave a Reply

